Passion and Priority

This week was interesting! I learned a great deal about the nitty and gritty details of what it takes to actually start a web business. It’s frightening, but at the same time, exciting. I think I’m actually onto something with this one.

Our professor, brother Thomas Scott had a very inspiring video for us at the beginning of the week. He spoke about passion and priorities, and how the two things should always go hand in hand.

BEATING A DEAD HORSE

One of the things brother Scott mentioned in his video was his story with this kid in a school not liking CDs like he does. He said, “Passion is incredibly difficult to transfer from one person to another.”

This is an incredibly important thing to think and consider in the world of entrepreneurship. And he stressed that you shouldn’t just follow passion for passion’s sake.

Here is the summary of what I learned from brother Scott’s video:

Don’t let the passion take over you. Passion alone does not make money. Solve pain points. Boil down to why you are passionate about it, and think about the results of your idea and what it can do to those who consume it. Match it with their priority. Ask:

  • WHAT IS SOMETHING PEOPLE WILL PAY FOR THAT YOU ARE GOOD AT?
  • WHAT’S A PROCESS YOU CAN IMPROVE?

Take your passion and pair it a priority. BOOM. Profit.

Photo by Doran Erickson on Unsplash

A couple of things we learned this week as well: Site Design. I didn’t think there was a lot of psychology behind designing a website, but it turns out, it has a lot of psychology. Humans like to study other humans to get the other humans to do what the humans want. Makes sense, right?

But some of the things that I learned were highly valuable things to consider when I start building my website. Here are some of the things i gathered:

1. Paying attention to consistent branding throughout the website. In previous classes I’ve had and personal experience from previous jobs, I learned the importance of having a style guide when it comes to everything. Decide on which color palette you’ll use throughout the website. Write a list of types and font colors that you’ll be using for every single thing: headings, dates, subheadings, body, etc. Consistency in design makes it easier for your audience to become familiar with who for and what your website is about.

2. Compress images as much as you can. Make your website load faster. If you can load it even a millisecond faster, that counts. Compressing image sizes makes your site load a little faster.

3. One tip I learned from my past design classes is to add an element of humanity to your website. No matter what type of website it is, human faces are comforting to see. This can influence your site visitors how they feel about your website. Use this to your advantage when it comes to driving visitors to your site, and making them stay.

Photo by Andy Holmes on Unsplash

On top of that, I got to plan what I want to do with my own website by comparing two websites, and pulling out design elements I want to include in mine. We also talked about credit card payments, but I won’t go into too much details in that because we’d take all day.

Overall, great week in this class. I learned a lot. I’m stoked to start building my own website!

Leave a comment