Distractions This Week


This week we learned about ad relevance and quality scores on Google Ads. It was really interesting as the confusion I with last week’s lesson were clarified, and I was able to understand how to go about writing ads and setting up campaigns. It turns out, Google Ads has a pretty nifty feature where they score the quality of your ads on a scale of 1-10.

The scale is pretty elaborate, but Google made it clear that it’s more of a diagnostic tool rather than a performance indicator. It helps you determine which best practices you are failing to do and need to start doing. A lot of things weigh in on how your ad is scored, but it’s important to know that higher quality ads are favored by Google and puts it higher up in rank.

Photo by NASA on Unsplash

Despite having a fruitful week, there’s been a lot of things happening in my home country. I live in the Philippines, which is notoriously placed in the Pacific Ocean and is constantly hit by typhoons every year. Just yesterday, we were hit by a supertyphoon, Typhoon Ulysses. A couple of cities have been submerged in 15ft floods, lost homes and loved ones. It’s quite a devastating time.

I’m grateful the city I live in wasn’t that affected, but I feel sadness for my people and the struggle they have been going through. I was distracted this week with schoolwork, because I felt the need to help as much as I can online, donating on flood drives, sharing information, connecting with people who needs rescuing and getting them the help they need.

I personally apologize, brother Scott, if you are reading this, if the performance of my work has been subpar this week. Now you know why.

Leave a comment